Adrienne C.
1 min readNov 1, 2022

--

Lol, no, that would be easy money. Coming up with a pen name isn't hard either.

I made $13K last month because:

* I write to market in a profitable genre (romance; mystery/thriller; sci-fi; fantasy)

* This is my full time job so I can get a lot of words in a day (but I still write as much as I did with a full time job--it's just easier)

* I know how to market and advertise. Note: ads are still <6% of my earnings.

* I have 6 books published in a series within a month or so of each other, which keeps the wheel spinning.

The TRUE Caveat: I started in 2016 with the most obviously profitable genre: romance. That got me past any learning curve so I could hit the ground running with a new totally unrelated pen name.

Geesh, I wasn't trashing your article. I was just offering a different veiw point. Write what sells in a profitable niche, hopefully in a series, and you can make good money. It ain't rocket science...or the lottery.

--

--

Adrienne C.

Dominatrix of the written word. I write about writing, politics, race, money, religion, sex — hence the editor of The Third Rail