Getting Serious About My Author Career

First Step: Deactivate Twitter

Adrienne C.
5 min readJun 2, 2023
Photo by Chris J. Davis on Unsplash

Allow me to apologize ahead of time to those of you who have followed me based on my story about Nude Beaches. Most of what I write here from now on will be my journey to making a shitload of money from writing and self-publishing books. Though I won’t completely forgo writing the occasional fun lark that titillates the senses.

But back to this writing thing. I’ve switched from Romance, which is probably a good thing in this day and age, unless you want to spend hours on TikTok (I do not), and compete against a million (probably literally!) other crabs in a barrel.

Last year, I shifted to a subgenre that suits me both in terms of interest (I devour books in the overarching genre) and fellow authors (I always felt like the wallflower among mean girls in Romance). And I’m pretty good at it if reviews, rankings, followers, and sales are any indication. I’m referenced over and over in K-lytics, so I suppose that’s saying something. It’s a smaller subgenre that not many are willing to dip a toe into, as it requires…

--

--

Adrienne C.

Dominatrix of the written word. I write about writing, politics, race, money, religion, sex — hence the editor of The Third Rail